If you want to perform HVAC work in North Carolina, you have to obtain a North Carolina HVAC license.
There are two types of licenses in the state of North Carolina.
The refrigeration licenses will give you a chance to work on refrigeration or commercial HVAC units. But what refers to cooling and heating licenses, you can find three basic classes. So here they are:
You can get a technician or contractor license in each of these three classes. If you want to run an HVAC business, you have to obtain a contractor license.
People who have HVAC licenses can make about $40,000. If you have an H1 license, you can earn approximately $43,000 per year. But if you have an H2 license, you can make a salary of about $53,000. And if you have an H3 license, the average salary for you will be approximately $58,000.
The license cost can vary from $65.00 to $130.00. You will pay $65.00 if you are training to become a technician. What refers to contractors, they need to pay $130.00. With these licensing fees, there is a surety bond. It is about $2,000, but the concrete amount can vary from city to city.
You have to meet all the requirements in order to get an HVAC license.
Your on-the-job experience can be obtained through education. To qualify for a North Carolina HVAC license, you can receive a certificate or associate’s degree. There are top schools that offer HVAC programs. So here they are:
The tuition at these schools for the HVAC program will be about $5,000-$8,000. You can find financial aid options by asking the schools. There are top universities that offer bachelor’s or master’s degrees in mechanical engineering in North Carolina. Here they are:
In order to get a refrigeration license, you have to get 4,000 hours of experience in commercial refrigeration. Half of it, you can get via academic or technical training. If you work under the supervision of a professional engineer or a refrigeration contractor, you will gain the other half of your experience.
In order to take the contractor exam of cooling and heating license types, you have to obtain two years of on-site experience in the service, repair, maintenance, or installation of plumbing or heating systems. You need 3,000 hours of on-site experience for taking a standard HVAC technician exam.
The cooling and heating licenses are issued by The North Carolina State Board of Fire Sprinkler, Heating, and Examiners of Plumbing Contractors. And the refrigeration licenses are administered by the State Board of Refrigeration Contractors.
You have to take exams to get an HVAC license. For the HVAC contractors and technicians, the exam is about 4 hours. The state of North Carolina requires a business and law exam. It is 1,5 hours.
If you want to get an additional refrigeration contractor license, you need an exam, too. You have to fill out and submit the application for an HVAC license. And you need to provide evidence of at least 4,000 hours in commercial refrigeration. A combination of technical training, education, or an apprenticeship can be the experience.
The refrigeration exam is divided into four parts. And you have to pass them within a year. All these exams totally consist of 100 questions. And you have a chance to use any book during the exam.
You have to renew your HVAC license in this state every year. If you do not renew it for three years, you have to retake all the exams.
You need 3 years to obtain an HVAC license in North Carolina.